top of page

Happy Days

So, this was written a year ago when we hadn't launched quite yet...

BUT! who doesn't love a good throwback?

Enjoy!

 

Dear Ees,

You went on your blind date yesterday and I have to say.. I'm real proud of you! I know for a fact I would've never gotten up the guts to go in and have coffee with some guy someone's aunt knows! Every once in a while, your love life comes up in conversation with people I know - mostly because everyone is shocked that you're still single. My parents were talking about all the guys they've met that would be good matches for you and we were laughing because no one really seems like they'd deserve you! So, I was thinking about it and I realized that I haven't been affirming you as an individual as much as I've been cheering you on to get out there and date and I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you a few things.

1. You are beautiful. You should be told that more often. You really are a stunner. Mostly because of the confidence and vibrancy that just pours out of you. But also because you got great genes and God blessed you with a great face.

2. You are a rare find. There's been a trend in your life of guys who conveniently keep you in their back pocket as the person they'll marry if they're still single at 30, 40, 50.. whatever. Nothing makes me more angry! You are no man's back up plan. I am convinced I will never approve of any man who keeps you in the friend zone on the off chance he gets his sh.. together or if he's waiting to see if another relationship won't pan out. Not that anyone quite deserves you but whoever comes a'courting must be recognize just how incredibly special you are and not even have it as a thought in his mind that he can take advantage of your company while he bides his time considering his options. You must be his first choice or he's disqualified.

3. You don't need a man. I could sing you any number or girl pop anthems chanting feminist jargon and pumping you up to be independent... But I don't really need to. You are such a standalone wonder that a man won't make you any more of a person. A relationship won't offer you more value as a human being. A title such as wife or girlfriend or bae or boo won't define you more than your care for others, your passion for life, or your growth in the Lord already do. If any guy enters your life as a partner, he's simply signing up for the ride of his life.

You're the best. Whoever would like to love you has to go through me first and I'm a tough critic. He best know he won't deserve you from the start!

Love,

Buff <3

 

Oh Buff,

I laughed, then cried, then laugh cried as I read this letter.

I hate talking about my love life, or being single, because for the most part it just is what it is and I don't think it should be an issue. The theme for most of life has been "grow where you are planted" and that has really applied well to dating. It just so happens that for most of life, God has had me single - and that's where He's had me grow.

But you hit home, with your eloquent words. Honestly, the things you've said, I've said to myself a million times over. To have someone else reaffirm them meant the world to me. But then I also started thinking - those are probably the words (maybe slightly different ones, same idea) that Jesus feels about us too. He created us to be standalone wonders. He created us as rare and precious gems. He planned our lives, gave us our genes. How incredibly encouraging is that?

I hope every single girl out there has a friend who can remind them every now and then of how Jesus feels about them.

You're my favorite. Love, Lize


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page